Young Innovation Leader of the Year 2013
12 December 2013

Show your potential for innovation

The world is currently entering a new era in which companies, nations, and continents must reinvent themselves. Intense competition, shorter product lifecycles and the continuing aftermath of a global economic crisis means it is more essential than ever to constantly change in order to survive. Against this backdrop, individuals who constantly push innovation and transformation to reach growth are highly in demand. With the new “Innovation Leader of the Year” award a jury of Swedish experts and executives recognizes young individuals who show the potential to become such leaders. This year the prize was awarded to Yingzhi Zhu Ryberg (31), a PhD Student at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm (KTH). 
The jury, which consists of six individuals with broad experience from both industry and academia, nominated four highly competent finalists. All finalists share the ability to link technology innovation with business innovation for the commercialization of new products and services or to transform business models. Among the finalists, Yingzhi Zhu Ryberg convinced the jury with her outstanding performance, abilities and personal impact. She currently works on renewable biomass that can be used for future packaging. In addition, she promotes the commercialization of waste from the pulp industry for use as an ingredient in cosmetics products. “The Jury recognized a strong innovation potential with personal and team leadership deployed to approach a complex technical and business problem” in Mrs Ryberg. Not only does the environment benefit from her work, the research also has “a global business potential and is of relevance for the Swedish Industry” states the jury in its argumentation. The other finalists were Emelie Johansson, Nima Matias Jokilaakso and Max Mohammadhassan Mohammadi. 
The jury consists of six executives and experienced professionals: 

  • Laurent Leksell, Chairman of the Board & Founder, Elekta AB 
  • Ulla-Britt Fräjdin Hellqvist, Business advisor, Chairman Kongsberg Automotive, member of numerous of boards and former vice president Volvo Cars
  • Mats Magnusson, Professor in Product Innovation Engineering, KTH
  • Daniel Carlsson, Technology transfer manager, KTH Innovation
  • Anders Johansson, Global practice leader Technology and Innovation Management, ADL
  • Nils Bohlin, Global practice leader Healthcare, ADL